Dietitians

Year
The More You Use Condiments the More You Want It
Rhoda added,changes in eating habits may result in changes in taste preferences.Humans perceive tastes through taste buds clustered in tongue.After our taste buds have adapted to a certain taste,a higher intensity of taste might be required to achieve the original level of sensation.When cooking at home,Rhoda...
Ready-made Sauces are High in Salt and Fat
Rhoda says,it is also important to be vigilant on the salt content of ready-made cooking sauces such as soy sauces,oyster sauces,fish sauces,chicken powders,XO sauces and spicy sauces,as they could increase our sodium consumption.It is recommended that sodium consumption should be limited to no more...
Natural Herbs Enhance Flavours and Aromas
Food seasonings have been an integral part of both Eastern and Western cuisines.Rightly added to foods,they not only enhance flavours but also reduce unpleasant odours. Rhoda,a registered dietitian,shares a variety of natural seasonings,which are healthy choices for making delicious dishes.Rhoda...
Have a Healthy and Balanced Diet
Fion CHOW, accredited Practising Dietitian (DAA, AUS) and Assistant Treasurer of Hong Kong Dietitians Association, suggests to choose different types and colours of fresh and seasonal vegetables as different vegetables offer different types of nutrients and phytochemicals. Eggplants in purple colour...
How Much Vegetables Do We Need Every Day?
Fion CHOW, accredited Practising Dietitian (DAA, AUS) and Assistant Treasurer of Hong Kong Dietitians Association, said ,“ Research suggests that eating adequate amounts of vegetables can reduce the risk of developing various diseases and health problems like hypertension, diabetes, heart diseases,...

營養師篇

年份
現成醬料 多鹽高脂
市面上出售的現成中西醬料種類繁多,方便易用,但Rhoda提醒大家,很多傳統調味料和現成醬汁,例如豉油、蠔油、魚露、雞粉、XO醬、辣椒汁等,主要由鹽醃製,含有大量鈉質。正常人每天的鈉攝取量一般不應多於2...
天然香料 增香提味
中西烹飪總離不開調味,在食材加入調味料,既可去除魚腥或菜澀味,亦可使菜式更可口。營養師吳彥慈(Rhoda)為大家介紹不同種類的天然調味品,提供健康美味的選擇。 Rhoda表示:「中國人談飲食,很...
均衡營養  吃得健康
均衡營養吃得健康澳洲註冊營養師及香港營養師協會助理財政Fion建議選購新鮮、時令和不同顏色種類的蔬菜。不同顏色的蔬菜所含的營養和植物性化合物都有所不同,例如紫色的茄子含花青素﹑紅色的番茄含茄紅素﹑橙色的紅蘿蔔及南瓜含胡蘿蔔素﹑白色的椰菜花和蘑菇含花色素等。所以,Fion建議大家應進食不同種類的蔬菜、...
每天進食多少蔬菜才足夠?
澳洲註冊營養師及香港營養師協會助理財政周倩蕾(Fion)表示不同研究顯示,進食足夠的蔬菜能有助預防多種主要疾病和健康問題,例如高血壓、糖尿病、心臟病、...
各色蔬果  營養各異
各色蔬果營養各異現代人奉行多菜少肉的飲食習慣。然而,蔬菜種類繁多,營養成分各異。澳洲註冊營養師及香港營養師協會助理財政周倩蕾(Fion)提供了一系列儲存和烹調蔬菜的方法,讓讀者獲取最大的營養價值。Fion解釋,蔬菜可分?葉菜類、瓜類、果類、菇菌類、根莖類和豆類。蔬菜是天然食物,能為人體提供各種不同營...