Dietitians

Year
Congee, Rice Noodles, Egg Noodles and Rice – Enjoy Them and Stay Healthy!
There are many techniques in Chinese cooking, yet the most common methods are pan-frying, stir-frying, deep-frying, blanching/poaching, stewing, simmering, steaming and roasting/grilling. Cooking the same food ingredients...
Ways to prevent nutritional loss at cooking
Full of nutrients as they are, says Verona, certain vegetables, especially cruciferae (e.g. broccoli, cauliflower, Chinese white cabbage, etc.), have fibre that is not easily digestible. They need to be broken down, fermented...
A balanced diet
Each colour of a vegetable contains a unique nutritional component that is essential to our health. As Verona suggests, the more colours of vegetables we eat, the more nutrients we can get from them. “Vegetables contain chemical...
Refreshing Summer Gourds for More Nutrients
When summer arrives, so do a great variety of gourds. Wax gourds, cucumbers, bitter gourds and sponge gourds (loofah/luffa) are ideal choices from summer menus. Not only they are appetising for addition to dishes and soups,...
Beware of fat and sodium in fried rice noodles and egg noodles
Fried rice noodles and fried egg noodles are both very popular dishes, yet they are high in fat content. As 100 grams of Singapore-style fried rice noodles weighing about 610 gram contains 51 grams of fat (equivalent to 10 teaspoons of...

營養師篇

年份
蒸、炒、煮、焗(烤) -- 健康料理
中國人的烹調方法五花八門,較常見的有煎、炒、煮、炸、燘、燉、蒸、烤(「焗」)等。不同烹調方法不但能影響食材的賣相及風味,而且還會影響食物的營...
烹調得宜消暑保健
Verona更補充,雖然常吃瓜菜有益健康,但部分種類,如十字科類蔬菜(西蘭花、椰菜花、白菜等)的膳食纖維不易被消化,需要依靠大腸內的細菌分解、發酵和吸收,容...
均衡營養
大家常吃的瓜菜種類繁多,所含的營養成分也有所不同。Verona建議平時盡量進食不同顏色的新鮮蔬菜,以攝取各種營養素。「瓜菜所含的植物化學物質,有助給...
夏令瓜菜  吃得輕「營」
炎夏將至,正是各種夏令瓜菜上市的時節;以冬瓜、黄瓜、苦瓜、絲瓜等烹調的美味瓜饌或清潤湯水,讓人胃口大開。五彩的顏色、脆爽的口感,帶來一...
炒粉炒麵  多油高鈉
至於港人愛吃的炒粉麵雖然香口美味,但烹調方法卻增加了食物的脂肪含量,如一碟約610克的星洲炒米粉便含脂肪51克(約10茶匙油),放湯會較為健康,但豬骨、酸辣...