Frequently Asked Questions

Ans: One-star ESRs are required to offer at least five “More Fruit and Vegetables” dishes on a daily basis. However, it is not necessary to make these five dishes available in the same session.
For Two-star ESRs (Green Star + Red Star) or Three-star ESRs, they are required to provide at least five “EatSmart Dishes” on a daily basis, including at least one “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish and at least one “3 Less” dish. Failure to do so will be deemed not in compliance with the requirement. On the other hand, it is not necessary to make the five “EatSmart Dishes” available in the same session; it is sufficient if the five “EatSmart Dishes” are provided on the same business day. For instance, a participating restaurant can provide three “EatSmart Dishes” in the morning session and two “EatSmart Dishes” in the evening session.

Ans: To qualify as a “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish, uncooked vegetables should occupy at least 4 times as much the amount of meat and its alternatives present in the dish. Taking a set menu of beef skewer with about 1/2 bowl of cooked beef as an example, 2 bowls of salad should be provided to meet the requirement of “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish. (1 bowl = 250 – 300 ml).

Ans: No, “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish does not include any dish containing vegetables or other ingredients which have been quickly deep-dried.

Ans: We encourage participating restaurants to use healthier cooking methods and ingredients that can reduce the amount of fat / oil, salt and sugar. However, “Less” is not equivalent to “Low” or “No”. Dishes prepared in accordance with the Checklist for “3 Less” dishes (Annex II) are generally the healthier options.

Ans: Yes. To ensure that “3 Less” dishes are all healthier choices, participating restaurants are required to modify or create new dishes according to the definition of “3 Less”, and to use the Checklist for “3 Less” dishes in Annex II for final checking.

Ans: No. Less fat / oil, less salt and less sugar are not equal to low fat / oil, low salt and low sugar. “3 Less” dishes have reduced content of fat / oil, salt and sugar but may not be as low as that in special diets. These patrons are advised to consult their doctors or dietitians.

Ans: Non-deep fried ready-to-use “vegetarian chickens” are usually seasoned and contain relatively higher content of sodium, so they are not suitable for preparing “3 Less” dishes.

Ans: Although dry-roasted plain nuts and avocados are rich in fat, they mainly contain unsaturated fat which is beneficial to cardiovascular health. Therefore, they can be used for preparing “3 Less” dishes, yet in an appropriate amount only.

Ans: It is required to “serve low-fat salad dressing or sauce separately” in “3 Less” dishes. In this regard, “oil and soy sauce, which is supposed to be poured on the dish in the final cooking step” should also be separately served so that patrons can add the sauce to the dishes at their own discretion.

Ans: It means that, as a general reference, you should use no more than three teaspoons of vegetable oil and half teaspoon of salt to make a dish that serves four persons. The amount of sodium in half teaspoon of salt is comparable to one tablespoon of soy sauce (1 teaspoon = 5 ml, 1 tablespoon = 15 ml).

Ans: Although these simple food meet the “3 Less” criteria, patrons expect to eat dishes which excel in “colour, smell, taste and nutrition”. We encourage participating restaurants to design appealing “3 Less” dishes.

Ans: No. “EatSmart Dishes” do not include beverages.

Ans: Two-star ESRs (Green Star + Yellow Star) and Three-star ESRs must provide promotional offer for “EatSmart Dishes” throughout the year but the types of promotional offer can be altered.

Ans: A hotpot restaurant which has become an ESR must serve at least one kind of “3 Less” soup base among the five “EatSmart Dishes” provided. Apart from providing an individual hotpot ingredient as a “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish and “3 Less” dish, hotpot restaurants may also consider providing a “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish and “3 Less” dish set meal including both hotpot ingredients and soup base.

Ans: To cater for different preferences of patrons in different seasons, the DH encourages participating restaurants to change “EatSmart Dishes” frequently. Participating restaurants can create more delicious dishes with reference to the nutritional criteria of “3 Less” dishes and “More Fruit and Vegetables” dishes. If necessary, the DH will be willing to provide ongoing support, e.g. providing nutritional recommendations on new recipes.

Ans: One-star ESRs are required to offer at least five “More Fruit and Vegetables” dishes on a daily basis. However, it is not necessary to make these five dishes available in the same session.
For Two-star ESRs (Green Star + Red Star) or Three-star ESRs, they are required to provide at least five “EatSmart Dishes” on a daily basis, including at least one “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish and at least one ““3 Less” dish. Failure to do so will be deemed not in compliance with the requirement. On the other hand, it is not necessary to make the five “EatSmart Dishes” available in the same session; it is sufficient if the five “EatSmart Dishes” are provided on the same business day. For instance, a participating restaurant can provide three “EatSmart Dishes” in the morning session and two “EatSmart Dishes” in the evening session.

Ans: To qualify as a “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish, uncooked vegetables should occupy at least 4 times as much the amount of meat and its alternatives present in the dish. Taking a set menu of beef skewer with about 1/2 bowl of cooked beef as an example, 2 bowls of salad should be provided to meet the requirement of “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish. (1 bowl = 250 – 300 ml).

Ans: No, “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish does not include any dish containing vegetables or other ingredients which have been quickly deep-dried.

Ans: We encourage participating restaurants to use healthier cooking methods and ingredients that can reduce the amount of fat / oil, salt and sugar. However, “Less” is not equivalent to “Low” or “No”. Dishes prepared in accordance with the Checklist for “3 Less” dishes (Annex II) are generally the healthier options.

Ans: Yes. To ensure that “3 Less” dishes are all healthier choices, participating restaurants are required to modify or create new dishes according to the definition of “3 Less”, and to use the Checklist for “3 Less” dishes in Annex II for final checking.

Ans: No. Less fat / oil, less salt and less sugar are not equal to low fat / oil, low salt and low sugar. “3 Less” dishes have reduced content of fat / oil, salt and sugar but may not be as low as that in special diets. These patrons are advised to consult their doctors or dietitians.

Ans: Non-deep fried ready-to-use “vegetarian chickens” are usually seasoned and contain relatively higher content of sodium, so they are not suitable for preparing “3 Less” dishes.

Ans: Although dry-roasted plain nuts and avocados are rich in fat, they mainly contain unsaturated fat which is beneficial to cardiovascular health. Therefore, they can be used for preparing “3 Less” dishes, yet in an appropriate amount only.

Ans: It is required to “serve low-fat salad dressing or sauce separately” in “3 Less” dishes. In this regard, “oil and soy sauce, which is supposed to be poured on the dish in the final cooking step” should also be separately served so that patrons can add the sauce to the dishes at their own discretion.

Ans: It means that, as a general reference, you should use no more than three teaspoons of vegetable oil and half teaspoon of salt to make a dish that serves four persons. The amount of sodium in half teaspoon of salt is comparable to one tablespoon of soy sauce (1 teaspoon = 5 ml, 1 tablespoon = 15 ml).

Ans: Although these simple food meet the “3 Less” criteria, patrons expect to eat dishes which excel in “colour, smell, taste and nutrition”. We encourage participating restaurants to design appealing “3 Less” dishes.

Ans: No. “EatSmart Dishes” do not include beverages.

Ans: Two-star ESRs (Green Star + Yellow Star) and Three-star ESRs must provide promotional offer for “EatSmart Dishes” throughout the year but the types of promotional offer can be altered.

Ans: A hotpot restaurant which has become an ESR must serve at least one kind of “3 Less” soup base among the five “EatSmart Dishes” provided. Apart from providing an individual hotpot ingredient as a “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish and “3 Less” dish, hotpot restaurants may also consider providing a “More Fruit and Vegetables” dish and “3 Less” dish set meal including both hotpot ingredients and soup base.

Ans: To cater for different preferences of patrons in different seasons, the DH encourages participating restaurants to change “EatSmart Dishes” frequently. Participating restaurants can create more delicious dishes with reference to the nutritional criteria of “3 Less” dishes and “More Fruit and Vegetables” dishes. If necessary, the DH will be willing to provide ongoing support, e.g. providing nutritional recommendations on new recipes.

常見問題

答:一星「有營食肆」必須每天提供最少五款「蔬果之選」的菜式,但五款菜式不一定要在同一時段供應。
至於兩星「有營食肆」(綠星+紅星)或三星「有營食肆」,必須每天提供最少五款「有營菜式」,其中必須包括至少一款「蔬果之選」菜式及至少一款「3少之選」菜式,否則便會視為不符合要求。另外,五款「有營菜式」不一定要在同一時段供應,只須在同一營業日供應即可,例如可在早市供應三款,晚市供應兩款。

答: 未經烹調的蔬菜亦計算在內,但所要求的分量是肉類及其代替品的四倍或以上。以串燒牛肉套餐為例,熟牛肉約半碗,若套餐希望成為「蔬果之選」,需包括兩碗沙律(1碗=250-300毫升)。

答: 不符合,「蔬果之選」不包括含經「走油」的蔬果或其他食材的菜式。

答: 不符合,因為「鵲巢」經油炸,不符合「蔬果之選」的要求。

答: 我們鼓勵參與食肆採用較健康的烹調方法和食材以減少菜式中的油、鹽、糖含量。然而,「少」並不等同「低」或「無」。因此,一般而言,通過「3少之選」菜式評估表(附件二)的菜式是較健康的選擇。

是。為了確保「3少之選」的菜式都是較健康的選擇,參與食肆需根據「3少之選」的定義,改良現有的或創作新的菜式,並使用「3少之選」菜式評估表(附件二)作最後檢閱。

答: 並不適合。少油、少鹽、少糖並不等於低油、低鹽、低糖,「3少之選」菜式是藉選用較健康的材料及烹調方法以減少油、鹽、糖含量。建議食客向醫生或營養師查詢。

答: 是,這能確保「3少之選」的菜式含較少的油、鹽和糖。

答: 非油炸現成的「素雞」大多已被調味,且鈉質含量或較高,所以並不適合製作「3少之選」的菜式。

答: 乾焗原味果仁和牛油果脂肪含量較高,但主要是有益心血管健康的不飽和脂肪,所以可用以製作「3少之選」的菜式,但只宜適量使用。

答: 「3 少之選」要求「低脂沙律醬或其他醬汁分開供應」,所以必須分開供應「最後淋上的豉油熟油」,讓食客按個人口味自行加入。

答: 可參考以不多於三茶匙的植物油、半茶匙鹽烹煮一碟四人分量的菜式。半茶匙鹽的鈉含量相若於一湯匙豉油(1茶匙 = 5毫升、1湯匙 = 15毫升)。

答: 這些簡單的食物雖然符合「3少之選」 的要求,但食客期望「色、香、味、營」俱全的菜式,鼓勵參與食肆能花點心思製作「3少之選」的菜式。

答:不可以。「有營菜式」並不包括飲品。

答:兩星「有營食肆」(綠星+黃星)和三星「有營食肆」須為「有營菜式」提供全年優惠,但優惠的模式可以改變。

答: 「星級有營食肆」的火鍋店所提供的五款「有營菜式」必須包括一款「3少之選」的湯底。除了可以以個別火鍋食材作「蔬果之選」和「3少之選」外,還可以考慮提供包括火鍋食材和湯底的「蔬果之選」和「3少之選」套餐。

答: 為配合不同時令和不同顧客的口味,衞生署鼓勵參與食肆多轉換「有營菜式」。參與食肆可根據「3少之選」和「蔬果之選」的營養要求研創更多美味的菜式。若有需要,衞生署十分樂意提供持續支援,例如在新菜式食譜的營養方面給予建議。

答:一星「有營食肆」必須每天提供最少五款「蔬果之選」的菜式,但五款菜式不一定要在同一時段供應。
至於兩星「有營食肆」(綠星+紅星)或三星「有營食肆」,必須每天提供最少五款「有營菜式」,其中必須包括至少一款「蔬果之選」菜式及至少一款「3少之選」菜式,否則便會視為不符合要求。另外,五款「有營菜式」不一定要在同一時段供應,只須在同一營業日供應即可,例如可在早市供應三款,晚市供應兩款。

未經烹調的蔬菜亦計算在內,但所要求的分量是肉類及其代替品的四倍或以上。以串燒牛肉套餐為例,熟牛肉約半碗,若套餐希望成為「蔬果之選」,需包括兩碗沙律(1碗=250-300毫升)。

答: 不符合,「蔬果之選」不包括含經「走油」的蔬果或其他食材的菜式。

答: 不符合,因為「鵲巢」經油炸,不符合「蔬果之選」的要求。

答: 我們鼓勵參與食肆採用較健康的烹調方法和食材以減少菜式中的油、鹽、糖含量。然而,「少」並不等同「低」或「無」。因此,一般而言,通過「3少之選」菜式評估表(附件二)的菜式是較健康的選擇。

是。為了確保「3少之選」的菜式都是較健康的選擇,參與食肆需根據「3少之選」的定義,改良現有的或創作新的菜式,並使用「3少之選」菜式評估表(附件二)作最後檢閱。

答: 並不適合。少油、少鹽、少糖並不等於低油、低鹽、低糖,「3少之選」菜式是藉選用較健康的材料及烹調方法以減少油、鹽、糖含量。建議食客向醫生或營養師查詢。

答: 是,這能確保「3少之選」的菜式含較少的油、鹽和糖。

答: 非油炸現成的「素雞」大多已被調味,且鈉質含量或較高,所以並不適合製作「3少之選」的菜式。

答: 乾焗原味果仁和牛油果脂肪含量較高,但主要是有益心血管健康的不飽和脂肪,所以可用以製作「3少之選」的菜式,但只宜適量使用。

答: 「3 少之選」要求「低脂沙律醬或其他醬汁分開供應」,所以必須分開供應「最後淋上的豉油熟油」,讓食客按個人口味自行加入。

答: 可參考以不多於三茶匙的植物油、半茶匙鹽烹煮一碟四人分量的菜式。半茶匙鹽的鈉含量相若於一湯匙豉油(1茶匙 = 5毫升、1湯匙 = 15毫升)。

答: 這些簡單的食物雖然符合「3少之選」 的要求,但食客期望「色、香、味、營」俱全的菜式,鼓勵參與食肆能花點心思製作「3少之選」的菜式。

答:不可以。「有營菜式」並不包括飲品。

答:兩星「有營食肆」(綠星+黃星)和三星「有營食肆」須為「有營菜式」提供全年優惠,但優惠的模式可以改變。

答: 「星級有營食肆」的火鍋店所提供的五款「有營菜式」必須包括一款「3少之選」的湯底。除了可以以個別火鍋食材作「蔬果之選」和「3少之選」外,還可以考慮提供包括火鍋食材和湯底的「蔬果之選」和「3少之選」套餐。

答: 為配合不同時令和不同顧客的口味,衞生署鼓勵參與食肆多轉換「有營菜式」。參與食肆可根據「3少之選」和「蔬果之選」的營養要求研創更多美味的菜式。若有需要,衞生署十分樂意提供持續支援,例如在新菜式食譜的營養方面給予建議。